The Nebraska Center for the Book


Jane Geske Award winners

The Nebraska Center for the Book annually presents this award to an organization, business, library, school, association, or other group that has made an exceptional contribution to literacy, book selling, books, reading, libraries, or Nebraska literature.

2023 Pat Leach & "All About Books" on Nebraska Public Media
2022 Nebraska Writers Collective
2021 Kearney Literacy Council
2020 UNL Center for Digital Research in the Humanities
2019 Nebraska Warrior Writers
2018 Humanities Nebraska Prime Time Family Reading Time
2017 American Life in Poetry - Ted Kooser
2016 City Impact (Lincoln), Literacy Center for the Midlands (Omaha), and Platte Valley Literacy Association (Columbus)
2015 Lincoln City Libraries One Book-One Lincoln Community Reading Program
2014 The Bookworm Bookstore
2013 Nebraska Library Commission
2012 Bess Streeter Aldrich Foundation
2011 Greg Kosmicki and The Backwaters Press
2010 Plainsongs poetry magazine, Hastings College
2009 Golden Sower Award Committee of the Nebraska Library Association’s School, Children’s, and Young People’s Section
2008 Archives & Special Collections of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
2007 Plum Creek Literacy Festival
2006 Department of English, University of Nebraska at Kearney
2005 The Willa Cather Pioneer Memorial & Education Foundation
2004 Nebraska Writing Project
2003 Grand Island Public Library and the Grand Island Public Library Foundation, Inc.
2002 Mari Sandoz Heritage Society, Chadron, Nebraska
2001 Friends of the Omaha Public Library
2000 Archives & Myer and Dorothy Kripke Jewish Federation Library, Omaha, Nebraska
1999 John G. Neihardt Foundation and Neihardt Center, Bancroft, Nebraska
1998 Friends of the Libraries of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
1997 Hilda Raz, Editor, and the Prairie Schooner
1996 The Nebraska Press Association
1995 University of Nebraska Press
1994 Harry Duncan and the Cummington Press
1993 Nebraska Humanities Council
1992 Heritage Room: Lincoln City Libraries

> Back to top